The Artist Within – A Guide


#2 Artist Within BLOG
October 16, 2008, 1:24 pm
Filed under: Daily Entries

Good morning!  OK.  There must be a reason why I just sat here for 10 minutes entering my second blog entry and when I clicked PUBLISH instead it was deleted!  This is the kind of thing that makes both my left brain and my right brain cuckoo!  My left brain is saying, “You just wasted all of that time and creating blog entries is the least of your worries today!”  My right brain is saying, “It was such a thoughtful and well-written entry.  It should not have disappeared into cyber-space.  Too bad we’re not a techie brain.” 

This blog is to introduce you to my Artist Within, my right brain voice (and, of course, by the mere fact that they are lodged together in cramped quarters inside my skull, my left brain voice.)  This reminds me of something I typed in the first version of this blog….

Meet Dr. Jill Taylor.  She is a brain researcher and 12 years ago she was working as such at Harvard University–you may have heard of this place.  She awoke one morning to a screaming headache and proceeded to have a stroke!  The hemmorage was in her left brain and she quickly witnessed (being a brain researcher she knew) the complete deterioration of her left brain capabilities.  She could not recognize numbers or letters.  She could not speak.  She could not recall simple facts.  Sound horrible?  It wasn’t totally.  As her left brain checked out, her right brain kicked in.  In her right brain she felt “one with the universe”.  She felt overwhelming peace and realized that 37 years of emotional baggage were gone.  She was in “nirvana”.  By the time she lost consciousness she was sure that it was the end.  When she woke up to the reality of life continuing on this planet she took it as a sign that she needed to share with people her experience and help to point them to their right brains.  Go to www.ted.com to view her speech.  She will also be on Oprah next Tuesday, Oct. 21st.  Tune in! 

Dr. Jill tells you why you want to get into your right brain.  My book, The Artist Within, A Guide to Becoming Creatively Fit, tells you how.  I am going to publish this quote quickly so I don’t lose it again.

Whitney

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

