The Artist Within – A Guide


The Change you Desire…

..is within your reach!

Somaly Mam Inspiration

So, I happen to be a woman on a mission!  This is not always easy!  I careen between thoughts of “Who do I think I am?” & “Watch out world!”  It is scary to commit to creating the ideas and dreams into your head into reality.  What if it does not work?  What if people don’t buy?  What if I go into debt?  What if…what if….  I am talking on the phone this morning with a woman in Chicago who is part of the Catalyst Ranch team and who is a business consultant.  I checked out her site last night and her resume intimidated me.  She has worked for major corporations (I have only ever worked for myself); she has multiple degrees (I only have a “Bachelor of General Studies” from Univ. of Michigan).  “Who am I to think that I have anything that she needs?”  You get the picture.  But then, I look back down at my most current project.  It is a portrait inspired by Somaly Mam.  It is my next CREATE Change Paint Kit:  Create Unity.  Somaly Mam was sold into sexual slavery at age 12 in Cambodia and escaped years later.  You all have probably heard of her.  She was featured in a recent Time Magazine 100 Most Influential or something like that.  Angelina Jolie wrote the excerpt about Somaly Mam.  She is one of those.   Not only did she survive and escape, but she founded a non-profit organization that rescues women from brothels–4000 so far!  She has made such a difference that brothel owners even kidnapped and raped Somaly’s then 14 year old daughter in 2006!!!  Did Somaly abandon her mission. No!  I almost cry every time I tell people that part of the story.  What did she say to her daughter?  There is no doubt that she loves her daughter so, so much, but she is on a mission.  She is shining the light on a BIGGER issue.  My thought is that as long as there are women being abused and enslaved none of us are truly free…think about that.  There are women who see the same sun we see every morning and the same moon, breathe the same air, and share our global consciousness who are being raped at the whim of the men around them!

So this is my life… I started out to write about the Abstract Painting Workshop I taught this weekend and now I am all fired up about saving women!  My point?

My point is that we are all connected and we can access the part of our mind that can grasp this AND empower us to make a difference, to shut down the fear and take the steps forward, by PAINTING!  Seriously!  Creative activity WORKS OUT your right brain muscle. It gets stronger just like our physical muscles do when we go to the gym.  Does it happen instantly?  No.  Just like at the gym.

I want the world to realize that if they fear the change they envision in their head, but can’t get it out, that they can DO something about it.  This is the concept that pushes away my inner left-brain voice that tells me I am not good enough, qualified enough, etc.  This is bigger than me.  When you attach yourself to a cause that is bigger than you, like Somaly Mam, amazing things can happen.

Go listen to MC Yogi’s song, “Be the Change”.  There are too many problems around ALL of us to be mentally lazy and to not pursue our further mental development.

My webstore is up!  So excited!  It has been years and years coming, but i always knew it would exist–right brain.  Please go there www.creativelyfit.com and order a paint kit!  Work out your right brain muscle and then e-mail me to tell me the change you want to create.  We will hold eachother accountable.  Below are images from the Painting Workshop I held this weekend in Nashville.  E-mail us if you would like to schedule Whitney for a workshop in your community.  It is all about small steps, one bicep/mental curl at a time and we will claim our true power!

Whitney's Abstract Painting Class! IMG_2352

Think about the women in Cambodia.  Send Somaly Mam supportive, peaceful, strengthening thoughts.  Go to www.somaly.org Stay tuned for the Create UNITY paint kit — at least $4 per kit is going to go to her organization!  I am so excited to be able to help any little way possible.  Please subscribe to this post so you get notifications when I create a new entry!  Create ANYTHING today and let me know how good it feels! For starters, create a MANDALA like the one below.  It is an ancient centering, meditative practice.  It will strengthen your right brain so your Artist Within can speak!  ~Whitney

Somaly Mam

01-26-2009 02;55;16PM

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

